David Hik


Dave is a Professor in the Department of Biological Sciences and Associate Dean (Academic) in the Faculty of Science at Simon Fraser University. His research interests are broadly focused on the ecology of tundra ecosystems in Arctic and mountain environments, social-ecological resilience, and the interface between science and policy. Since 1988 he has worked out of the Kluane Lake Research Station. In 2014, he completed a 4-year term as President of the International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) where he championed engagement of early career researchers, international partnerships, data management, and long-term planning for research coordination. He is also a member of several other advisory boards, including the Canadian High Arctic Research Station (CHARS); the Arctic Center (University of Lapland); and the Dechinta Centre for Research and Learning in the NWT. Currently he is Vice-Chair of the Arctic Council’s ‘Sustaining Arctic Observing Networks (SAON)’ initiative; Chair of the 3rd International Conference on Arctic Research Planning (ICARP III); and Co-Chair of the International Polar Partnership Initiative (IPPI). Previously, he held the Canada Research Chair in Northern Ecology (2002-2012) and was Executive Director of the Canadian International Polar Year (IPY) Secretariat (2004-2009). He is a Fellow of the Royal Canadian Geographical Society and was awarded the Society’s Martin Bergmann Medal for Excellence in Arctic Leadership and Science in 2013. David became a Board member of the Arctic Institute of Community-Based Research in 2014.